top of page

Who are The Mountaineers?


Its strange how things come about. Its strange how you hit upon that one thing that finally links you to the world and to your soul. I'm not one for getting sentimental but to find yourself in a position where you are actually making music for you and no one else is euphoric! For years i have produced music, i have sung songs, i have played instruments, i have listened to others and i have danced on many dance floors. Ive always struggled to come up with the one thing that makes me feel great about producing music. There have always been niggles that wouldn't go away, like "i hope people like this" "i wish more people could hear this" " i wish everyone thought it was good". I sit for hours writing, composing, experimenting, listening. I spend hours getting frustrated, getting thrilled and spend hours getting to a finished piece that i am happy with. (Im reluctant to call them songs. i dont sing. i could sing, but i dont want to). ive learnt to draw the line and stop messing with them and just let them be. Ive stopped worrying if people will like them. Ive stopped panicking that its not main stream. Im happy its for me. Im happy that i like the sounds, the pieces. im happy with the structures and the format. Im pleased with the noise my computer can make. im happy that this a duo between me and a 10 year old desk top. Its not fancy equipment clogging up a stage. its the two of is in a back bedroom, creating sound by trial and error. The errors are the best bit. And so it goes the sound of The Mountaineers has been landed upon. Quite by trial but it is not in my view an error. I am writing blogs for me. im creating websites for me. Im putting things in the public domain for me. Its always an added extra these days for people to like what i do. its not the be all and end all. But as like with everyone in the music industry, they crave for that little peice of recogonition. Albeit if it comes in the form of a good crowd at a local gig at the weekend, if its the family bithday party they perfom at or if its the stadium tour they dream off. Everyone wants something they can say they were proud of and that they do something they love. i have The Mountaineers. For the world if they want it, for me if they dont.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page